Melbourne Assault & Battery Defense Lawyer
20+ Years Serving Clients throughout Brevard County, FL
If you or someone you know has been accused of assault or battery in the greater Brevard County area, your first priority should be to bring in a competent criminal defense attorney. Whether you are facing misdemeanor or felony charges in connection with assault and/or battery, your freedom and future are at stake. Jail or prison time, heavy fines, probation, and a permanent criminal record are the penalties you face upon a conviction.
When facing the criminal justice system and the state’s resources in seeking such a conviction, you need a strong defender—one who knows the local system, courts, judges, and prosecutors, as well as the statutes and caselaw that apply.
At Law Offices of Laura D. Siemers, you can work with an attorney who has more than 20 years of exclusive experience in criminal defense. Attorney Siemers has a well-earned reputation as a tough litigator and zealous advocate for all of her clients, no matter how complex or difficult the case may seem.
Arrested for assault or battery? Schedule a free, initial consultation with Law Offices of Laura D. Siemers at (321) 218-5512.
Assault & Battery Laws in Florida
While assault and battery are often lumped together, they are actually separate crimes in Florida. Under Florida law, assault refers to an intentional and unlawful threat that puts the victim in fear of imminent harm. It is combined with an ability to carry through with the threat as apparent to the victim. You can be convicted of assault without actually making physical contact with the alleged victim. Depending on the circumstances, you can be charged with simple assault, aggravated assault (such as with a deadly weapon), and felony assault.
Battery occurs when physical contact is made against the alleged victim without his or her consent. It can also be charged as simple battery (intentional and unwanted physical contact) or aggravated battery, intending to cause serious bodily injury or through the use of a deadly weapon.
Penalties for assault and battery can include the following:
- Misdemeanor assault punishable by jail time of up to 60 days and/or a fine of up to $500
- Third-degree aggravated felony assault punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000
- Misdemeanor battery punishable by jail time of up to one year and/or fines of up to $1,000
- Third-degree felony battery punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000
- Second-degree felony aggravated battery punishable by up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000
To learn more about your assault or battery case, talk to our Melbourne assault & battery defense attorney at (321) 218-5512.
I could go home and get on with my life.- Louise
I felt that she really cared about me and my case.- Former Client