Melbourne FL Domestic Violence Attorney
Have You Been Accused of Domestic Violence in Brevard County?
Being accused of domestic violence is a serious matter that can bring various negative criminal and civil consequences. As a politically charged issue, it is aggressively prosecuted in Florida courts, often by prosecutors who have been specially trained in the matter. Because of this, if you are facing an accusation of any type of domestic violence, it is crucial that you retain the services of a skilled and experienced Melbourne domestic violence defense lawyer.
At Law Offices of Laura D. Siemers, we have concentrated our practice exclusively on criminal defense. When you work with our Melbourne domestic violence defense attorney, your case will be personally handled by a professional who has handled thousands of criminal cases in the local courts for more than 20 years. Our firm offers the kind of experience that can truly make a difference in the outcome of your case. We can work aggressively in seeking a dismissal or reduction in charges or penalties whenever possible.
Can A Domestic Violence Case Be Reopened?
The courts may grant you a new trial if your lawyer can demonstrate that harmful and prejudicial oversights throughout the original case considerably trespassed upon your rights or negatively impacted the result.
What Is Domestic Violence in Florida?
Florida Statute 741.28 defines domestic violence as the following offenses:
- Aggravated assault
- Aggravated battery
- Sexual assault
- Sexual battery
- Aggravated stalking
- False imprisonment
- Any crime that results in the injury or death of a household or family member
Those who can be involved in domestic violence include spouses, ex-spouses, individuals with a child in common, anyone related by blood or marriage, and individuals involved in a current or former intimate relationship through dating.
Penalties include mandatory jail time where injuries are involved, completion of a mandatory batterer’s program, deportation consequences for non-citizens, and a permanent criminal record. A first misdemeanor domestic violence charge is punishable by up to a year in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000. Probation may be ordered in lieu of jail time.
Put a Trusted Attorney in Your Corner
Domestic violence allegations can frequently be based on false accusations, exaggerations, and half-truths made out of spite, jealousy, and the attempt to get the upper hand in the breakdown of intimate relationships, divorce, child custody battles, and more. Having a trusted attorney in your corner is vital from the onset of any accusation so as to preserve your legal rights and prevent you from making statements that could be used against you.
I could go home and get on with my life.- Louise
I felt that she really cared about me and my case.- Former Client