Fighting DUI Charges in Florida
If you were arrested for drunk driving in Florida, you do not have to go through the legal system alone. At the law office of Laura D. Siemers, PA, we have more than 20 years of experienced defending clients against DUI charges in Florida.
Defense is all we do. We know the people and the processes involved in Florida’s legal system, and we will do everything we can to protect your rights.
Call the Law Offices of Laura D. Siemers at (321) 218-5512 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation with our Melbourne DUI lawyer.
Do First Time DUI Offenders Go to Jail in Florida?
Yes, first-time DUI offenders can go to jail in Florida. The sentence for a first-time DUI crime in Florida can cost you $1,000, up to six months in prison, a driver's license suspension for six months, and community service equalling fifty hours.
If you or someone you care about has been charged with DUI, it is important to act quickly. You only have 10 days, from the date of your arrest, to request a hearing to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license. I will file the paperwork and fight for your license at the hearing.
Penalties for a first time DUI offender can include:
- Up to 1 year of probation and/or jail
- Fines of up to $1,000
- 50 hours of community service
- 10 days of vehicle impoundment
- Mandated DUI school
- Vehicle ignition interlock device
However, penalties for DUI offense in Florida can increase with each following offense and accident involvement.
Put Experience on Your Side
DUI charges involve two separate legal processes: the administrative DMV hearing and charges in the criminal court. Even if you are found not guilty by a court, we will still need to deal with the DMV to get your license back.
It can be very difficult to go through this confusing legal struggle alone. Our attorney — Laura D. Siemers — handles these cases every day. We will guide you through the process and aggressively protect your rights. We will challenge the legality of your arrest by asking the important questions such as:
- Was there probable cause to pull you over?
- Did the arresting officer tell you that your license would be automatically suspended if you refused a breath test?
- Does the video of the incident tell a different story than the police report?
The answers to these questions and others are vitally important to your case. It may also be possible to challenge the breath test results in your case. You need an experienced, aggressive Melbourne DUI lawyer on your side to protect your rights.
We will conduct a thorough investigation of your case, and help you understand your legal options. We may be able to have your case dismissed or reduced to a reckless driving charge.
Call (321) 218-5512 or contact our Melbourne DUI attorney online to schedule a free initial consultation. The Law Offices of Laura D. Siemers is available around the clock to protect your rights.
I could go home and get on with my life.- Louise
I felt that she really cared about me and my case.- Former Client